Manic Monday | Down Syndrome

Just another Manic Monday….

Its Monday!  Most people are thinking, yes, Monday why the exclamation point?  For many its more like ” its Monday- blah!”  Whether you trudge to work, drop the kids at school, or whatever your routine- it’s the start for many of  yet another long week- the weekend seeming so far off.   I find myself often falling into this pitfall trap of the Mondays- it’s an easy thing to do.   But not today- today I’m thrilled it’s Monday-I’m thankful for another week, another day, another minute to enjoy this precious gift called life.

Yesterday I spent the day at the new Ann & Robert H. Lurie’s Children’s Hospital.  Although it was my first time in the new hospital I always have a bitter sweet feeling being in any children’s hospital.  I feel happiness that my daughter is home and healthy enjoying her life, sadness for the children currently residing there, and anxiety as past memories of our own struggles come flooding back.

However, this time I was not there for Kelsi, but rather for a plaque dedication for my grandmother.  When my Grammy died last October we set up a fund to raise money for Kelsi’s heart surgeons in her name.  Many other families do this as well and yesterday the hospital honored these people in a heart wrenching ceremony filled with love and many tears.

The pain and heartache in this room was palpable.  As one parent after another stood up and shared memories of their loved ones, mostly children, I was overwhelmed with pain for these people.    One man who touched me the most told of his young pregnant daughter, who was a twin that was taken suddenly near the end of her pregnancy.  Their granddaughter lived 3 days and went to be with her mommy.  It was sad.  It hurt.  What these people wouldn’t do for one more day-for one more Monday with their loved one.  In the midst of the heartache though was a sense of peace, a sense of hope as the leader reminded us that by living each day we carry on the legacy of those left behind because they live in us.  “Life is like an onion; you peel off one layer at a time and sometimes you weep”

So today I urge you to hug your husband or wife, kiss your babies one more time, tell a friend you love them; Embrace this day- this Monday because we’ve been given another day to live- another day to love.

This is the day that the Lord has made – we will rejoice and be glad in it.  Psalm 118

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

