This Little Light of Mine | Down Syndrome Support

When asked to describe my children I often find myself saying that Kenna is the love of my life and Kelsi is the light of my life.  Now to be clear this isn’t to say that I don’t love Kelsi or to say that Kenna doesn’t shine as bright as her sister.  For me it’s a way to explain the differences in them, in the way they make me feel, and the way they’ve affected me.

Kenna is my first born- my outgoing, amazing, sweet, daughter who fills my heart with more love than I thought it could hold.   She has taught me unconditional love and sometimes I am so overwhelmed with my love for her that it hurts.

Kelsi is my precious, brave, happy little girl- the light of my life.  Because of the way she shines, because of her infectious smile and humor, and because of the clarity she brought to my own life.  In a way I am thankful for the ignorance I once had because of the place it allows me to be in today.   Facing what I thought was something “awful” caused me to break down to a point where I was able to rebuild with a stronger foundation.  It gave me clarity that there is a plan, that I may not always understand it in the moment, but that I must have faith that it is what is meant to be.  Today, even though I am elated to be Kelsi’s mom, that experience helps me keep my eyes open and remember what is important.  It’s not my bank account, or whether I’m late, or if I feel frumpy that day.  It’s not the car that cut me off, the neighbor who’s house is bigger, or the the coffee I spilled on my desk.  It’s not the little things that we so often inadvertently place importance on as we go about our day-to-day life.

It often takes tragedy,  like our country is currently facing, or a heart-wrenching situation to bring things into focus.  For me it took finding out I was having a daughter with Down syndrome to become the person I should have been to begin with.  I wish it didn’t take tragedy for people to want to be better and kinder.  I wish it didn’t take having Kelsi for me to open my eyes, but often it does and for me, it did.

The important thing is that we learn from these moments, and learn from the Kelsis of the world.  We need to be loving and kind to all humans; accept all people, all children.  Let’s be an example to your children and to others.  Treat others as you want to be treated; we know this.  So many of us repeat it daily to our children, but as adults we need to do a better job of acting on it.

Let’s do better, let’s BE better.  Let’s stop looking at our differences and embraces our similarities.  We are all human beings in search of the same things in life.  Let’s be thankful for the gifts we do have instead of focusing on what we don’t have.  Let’s be kind to each other.  Let’s say hello, hold doors, let someone in on the road.  Let’s focus on what’s important…family, love, children, our health, freedom, safety…..

Children are gifts- All children.  You are blessed to be given the opportunity to be a mom or a dad to any child.  When life gets hard or you are facing a difficult situation-  Dare to be different, dare to take a chance, dare to let that light shine- it’s a light this world needs more than ever.

This little light of mine I’m going to let it shine.

Click here to watch video documenting Kelsi and our journey as a family

Happy Holidays from Kelsi!

Happy Holidays from Kelsi!

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “This Little Light of Mine | Down Syndrome Support

  1. Laura Melone says:

    Great post

  2. Celeste Herrera says:

    Dana – I read your posts about your beautiful daughter and not only do you bring tears to my eyes, but you inspire me! I wish you and your lovely family a very merry christmas. Know that I think you are an strong beautiful person and your honesty is so humbling to me.

  3. Malena Vazquez says:

    What a beatiful post. It is inspiring! Thank you for putting in words feelings that we have as ds child parents. It helps us so much!

  4. Lanie says:

    I love your post and the video. I have a 3 month old named Annabelle and our story, so far, is so similar to Kelsi’s. You have a wonderful blog. I found a lot of comfort in it during the last 5 months of my pregnancy. Life is good. We are blessed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

